Skip to content

Welcome to The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Low-Cost Startups Blog

February 5, 2010

Welcome to Low Cost Startups, a new blog created by Gail Margolies Reid, author of the new book The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Low-Cost Startups to be released in early March, 2010. A blog is a contemporaneous document, and I plan to use it to breathe real life into the ideas presented in the book.

There are many examples in the book itself. But unlike a blog, which can be posted to as frequently as the writer desires, a book is much more finite. On this blog I can provide much more in-depth interviews with a variety of business owners who can inspire you to realize your dream of starting your own business. If you already have a business of your own, the postings of this blog can help you further your goals and make your business thrive.

The life of a small business owner, of any size, can be frightening and lonely. The word ‘Entrepreneur’ is a combination of two French words; entre, which means in-between, and preneur (from the verb prendre, to take) which literally can be translated into ‘taker’. I can’t find a literal translation from another source, so I am relying here on my own high school study of the French language. My personal interpretation? An entrepreneur fits in somewhere between a corporation and an employee. You are the company, and you are the employee; the person in front of the curtain and behind the curtain. Many times it will feel like you need wizardry to make your business happen. I like to add that the ‘PREN’ in entrepreneur stands for taking risks. Everything you do as a small business owner has RISK written all over it. As I have told many of my clients, “If there were no risks, if it was easy, everyone would do it.” The fact that everyone doesn’t do it, that most people are afraid to act on their dreams, is a natural selection process that makes it more possible for those who do act to be successful.

Everyone needs advice. And believe me, you will get plenty of it. Most of your unsolicited advice will come from people who have your best interests at heart but are fearful for your future without the solid foundation of a regular paycheck. This one fact will likely influence the responses from your spouse, parents, friends and co-workers. For every reason you may have to start your own business, others will come up with ten reasons why you shouldn’t. Or why this is not the right time. Or why your idea won’t work. The majority of people you know will be ‘employees’ for their entire lives. If they support you in stepping out on your own, they are invalidating their very existence.

When others try to talk you out of pursuing your dream of starting your own business, remember this — here in the United States of America everyone can exercise free will and choose how they earn a living.

Here’s the quote for today: “The mind is everything. What you think you become.”

(Hindu Prince Gautama Siddhartha, the founder of Buddhism). Each of you has everything you need to start a business of your own. You simply have to take the first step – Believe in Yourself.

The reason I wrote The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Low-Cost Startups was to be of service to people just like you who desperately want advice from someone with experience to help them, but simply don’t have the cash to pay for the expertise.

In the next few months I will be taking aspects and ideas from my book and expanding on them. I will be sharing interviews with people in the business community at large who have very specific experience either in starting and running a successful small business or work in a capacity to help budding entrepreneurs. I will be starting from the beginning of the book and writing about getting started and free resources available to anyone to help them get their business off the ground.

Like any other blog, this one will give you the opportunity to post comments and questions. Here is my pledge: I will respond to every relevant question, either with a reply email or a posting on the blog. Now there are no excuses for postponing your dream of owning your own business. If I don’t know the answer to your question, I will find someone who does. Providing connection is something that I have done all my professional life. It is second nature to me, as natural to me as breathing. It’s what I have always loved best about my work as a CPA. Now that I have moved on from running my own practice to a new chapter in my own business career, guiding others to success and connecting people with the help they need is what I plan to do fulltime. So there you have it.

Monday’s topic: Why Now is a Great Time to Start Your Own Business

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:05 pm

    Gail – congrats on the blog. You’re right! A book is much more finite, so the blog will be fun to keep up with.

  2. kip permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:10 am

    Congratulations Gail, I look forward to following this blog and… Who knows?!?

  3. Harvey permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:01 pm

    Gail,

    A blog is just a fantastic idea, and best of luck getting it going, attracting a huge audience of entrepreneurs, and maybe getting a few thousand new small businesses off the ground. Couldn’t come at a better time.

  4. elizabeth Golden permalink
    February 6, 2010 5:27 pm

    I am sooooooo proud of you. Love the reference to the Wizzard of Oz

  5. harvey permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:50 pm

    Gail-
    Great idea. Couldn’t be better time to motivate/instruct small businesses to start-up and then, on to greatness. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

