Skip to content

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Low-Cost Startups Now On Sale!!!

March 12, 2010

I am so pleased to announce that The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Low-Cost Startups is now on sale at major book sellers across the country. You can order it from Amazon.com by clicking on the icon to the right. Or if you are someone who still prefers the “touch and buy” experience of the pre-Amazon.com days, you can venture to any major bookstore and pick up a copy today.

__________________________________

Gail Reid in Borders Bookstore It was an incredible experience for me to walk into a Borders Bookstore last Friday, go to the Business Section and see my very own book on the shelf.

__________________________________

 

It’s been a long time since I was in a situation that gave me butterflies, but that is exactly what I was feeling as I walked through the doors of Borders in search of my book. It was just one more reminder that Intention is the first step to making your dream your reality. There were many more steps along the way (and a great deal of writing and editing) but the idea and commitment to make something happen are the keys to unlocking the doors of new possibilities, just like launching a low-cost startup. Here you can see me with my dream come true in my very own hands.

I know it has been a while since I posted to this blog, and so much has happened in the past two weeks. It’s hard to believe that there were more important things going on for me than the release of my first book, but that is the long and the short of it.

Last week I was literally on the road, making a road trip from Los Angeles to New Orleans.  No, I was not on a book signing tour (although I am working on my book marketing strategy), but traveling in my capacity as a Mother – I accompanied my older daughter as she moved across the country. Driving through the Southwest on Interstate 10, we saw the vast and open terrain of Southern California, New Mexico, Arizona and West Texas. I had never been in this part of the country before, and I found the views from the car fascinating. It was a lesson in geography, economics and sociology all rolled into a four day road trip. There is so much open land in this section of the country, so much possibility.

As we were leaving California and crossing into Arizona, we saw some large windmill fields, a sign of burgeoning new technology and the hope of green energy for the future.

This sight and the suburban sprawl and city centers of El Paso and Houston were the trip’s exceptional symbols of the 21st century “new economy”. For the most part these particular highway scenes looked very much the same as they might have 50 years ago.  Small towns dominated the landscape; large big box stores like Wal-Mart and Home Depot were few and far between. Mostly we drove through rural areas with their own home-grown businesses – local restaurants, discount stores, and, especially in Texas, lots of ranches and farms. It was a reminder to me that the concept of making a living as an entrepreneur is not limited to large metropolitan areas. It is an opportunity open to everyone, anywhere. In fact, this is even truer in the vast rural sections of the country, where there are no major employers for hundreds of miles.

Today’s Quote:

When you’re traveling, you are what you are right there and then.  People don’t have your past to hold against you.  No yesterdays on the road.  ~William Least Heat Moon, Blue Highways

We had the chance to chat with a couple of small business owners during our four days on the road. Most of the people we met had been born and raised in the small towns we stopped in. These encounters made a huge impact on me and my daughter, and have given me a lot to think about, not only in relationship to starting a business but in the context of human connection in general.

Next week I will share some personal stories about the business people we met on our journey across the Southwest.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 4:26 pm

    Congratulations Gail! I am placing my order for a copy!

Leave a Reply

